Tagalog was declared the official language by the first constitution in the Philippines, the Constitution of Biak-na-Bato in 1897.

Tagalog spoken as a first language by a quarter of the population of the Philippines and as a second language by the majority

The word Tagalog derived from tagailog, from tagá- meaning "native of" and ílog meaning "river". Thus, it means "river dweller".

Select a category